top of page

This I Believe

In a prompt from her Sophomore English class, an anonymous writer illustrates the happiness that can spawn from believing in yourself.

This I Believe

I believe happiness is your own. If you picture something happening, it will. If you want to be happy, you will be. Others can’t affect you if you don’t let them. People will talk down to you and tell you that you are not good enough. It’s up to you to know your worth, to know that you are as perfect as you can be.

Throughout my life I have experienced just this. Multiple people I look up to and respect have called me names and told me that I’m selfish, ungrateful, fat, unloving, mean, cruel, lazy, judgy, worthless, skanky, a user, a brat, and many other hurtful words. I have to be strong enough to know that none of it is true. I have to know my own worth. I have to love myself and make every day as great as it can be.

In middle school, these words and comments floated around in my thoughts every moment of everyday. I put on a happy face at school and with my friends, and I would try to “fix” myself. Freshman year, I made new friends that would compliment me, especially on days that I wouldn’t compliment myself. Words have power. No matter who you are or what your background is, words have power over you. So I encourage you to not only surround yourself with people that make your day better but spend time with people that put a genuine smile on your face.

I started talking to my mother more. By telling her the truth and repeating the words that were used to describe me out loud, I knew they couldn’t be true. She told me they weren’t true. So I encourage you to talk to people who love you endlessly, even if you think they won’t understand or if it’s difficult to talk about. They can make your day better through their love for you. And those relationships will grow, making a happier life for both of you.

On my phone I began writing in my notes. I wrote about the words people would use so I wouldn’t forget. I encourage you to let your feelings loose. I encourage you to forgive everyone and everything, but don’t forget. Lastly I want you to find happiness in yourself. Find the light in each darkness, because living in the darkness is hardly living. If you picture a happy life for yourself, your picture will become a reality.

bottom of page