top of page

Movie Review: Bohemian Rhapsody

By Rachel Reynolds


Who doesn’t love Queen? I certainly do. I grew up on Queen, along with many other older amazing bands. When I was younger, I loved Freddie Mercury. I have absolutely no clue why, but he inspired me. Now, if you don’t know who Queen is, they are a rock band with Freddie Mercury as lead singer, John Deacon on bass, Roger Taylor on drums, and Brian May on guitar. I highly encourage and confidently recommend you learn about them soon by watching the movie.

Bohemian Rhapsody was beautiful. Outstanding. It moved me in ways I never knew I could be moved by. I was so inspired. The band worked their way from the bottom to the top. They originally played in bars and pubs, until Mercury (played by Rami Malek) sold the band’s van and bought themselves a recording session with a local studio. There, they made unbelievably remarkable and random music; throwing pennies on drums, dropping buckets, swinging amplifiers, and banging on giant gongs.

This movie allowed the audience to feel as if they were alongside Queen on their emotional and historical journey. At least, that’s the way I felt. I learned a lot about the band and each musician, producer, manager, and lover involved. I gained so much more respect for Queen after seeing the movie.

So many people take music for granted. Music has definitely changed and I can’t decide if it’s for the better or worse. Queen was real. A lot of music now is mainly autotune and synthesizers. But what all music has in common is that it is a form of self expression and I totally support that.

I never knew much about Queen, therefore I can’t exactly critique the accuracy of the information presented. However, I do know, that after seeing it the first time (yes, I watched it more than once because it’s THAT good) with my mom, she was impressed with the casting of the characters. I was looking forward to hearing songs I wasn’t familiar with, but the movie producers stuck with the more nostalgic classics. Overall, it was a wonderful movie about an even more wonderful band and I can not wait to see it for the third time.

bottom of page