top of page

Monthly Athletic Spotlight (October) - PLHS’s New Trainer (Georganna)

Updated: Dec 9, 2021

by Reese Sieger


Welcome to the Monthly Athletic Spotlight; October edition! This year, the Pointer Press Sports Section will be acknowledging someone every month. This someone can range from athletes to coaches and staff. October’s spotlight is none other than our new trainer, Georganna, more commonly known as Gigi.


Point Loma High School’s new trainer, Gigi.

Our previous trainer, Isaiah Yoder left, so in 2020, Gigi took over his position. Gigi has been a great addition to the fighting Pointers staff - she’s incredibly nice and all the athletes love her.


“Gigi is an amazing trainer! She immediately determined what my injury was and showed me things to do to help it. Within weeks, I was healed. Plus, everyday when I went into the trainer’s, Gigi was a joy to hang out with. She’s fun, kind, funny, and she feels like she’s one of my friends,” exclaimed athlete Kate Hancock.


Gigi was born and raised here, in San Diego, California. She attended Grossmont High School and graduated in 2015. After graduating high school, she got her undergraduate degree at San Diego State University and her post-graduate degree at Point Loma Nazarene. She majored in athletic training and after graduating college, her life path led her to Point Loma High School.


When asked how she ended up at PLHS, Gigi noted, “I worked at Point Loma Nazarene and my coworker told me that Point Loma High School had an open position for an athletic trainer. At first, it was meant to be a temporary job and I only planned to stay for two weeks. However, I fell in love with the job so when I got asked if I wanted my position to be permanent, I obviously said yes.”


Point Loma High School is Gigi’s first official job as a high school trainer, but she’s always known that this was her dream job.


“I became a trainer because I always knew that I liked to be around sports and wanted my future to revolve around it. At first, I wanted to be a physical therapist since I wanted to help rehabilitate injured athletes, but I realized that an athletic trainer gets to do just that plus they get to be closer and more connected to the athletes, so it’s even better.”


Gigi helping out an injured athlete at the field hockey game on October 21, 2021.

We are all thrilled to have Gigi as our new trainer. If you’re ever injured or just want to meet a cool person, go stop by the trainers room (1052) and meet Gigi. Not only is she amazing at her job, but she makes it fun! Congratulations to our October Athletic Spotlight: Gigi! Next month we’ll have another incredible person! Until then, Go Pointers!


The inside of the trainer’s room, located in the upper 1000 building (1052).


bottom of page