top of page

A New Decade

By Logan Mang


The current state of the world is one of cataclysmic malaise. One of slow, drawn out strangulation. We live in a nation where the citizens are too tired to question the growing authoritarian structure of the land. We live with an ADHD-ridden American mindset during the age of a modern Mussolini, where important cultural paradigm shifts are clouded and overshadowed by other, more recent egregious activity. This is America, and we are definitely slipping up.

I often wake up to the embers of a once-world consuming fire. The embers are weak. Desperate. Pitiful. They are dying down after a massive, consuming blaze.

The embers are revolting, but the original fire was no better.

It was destructive. Overwhelming. Gluttonous and greedy.

The fire burned and scarred and engulfed everything in its path. Despite this, I want the embers of the massive failed flame to grow. I want it to grow for the purpose of warmth and of the hearth as opposed to pain.

The class of 2019 will exit Point Loma High with a unique opportunity. We will have a decade that belongs to us. I want you to realize it.

I want you to realize we live in shifting times. We want the world, and we want it now.

I want the world. I. Want. It. Now.

I want you all to get angry and say as loudly as you possibly can, “I’m tired of this, and I’m not going to take it anymore.”

When the time comes, you must crave disorder, chaos, and freedom. You must go out into the streets and stand against tyranny. When the time comes, we will see just where you are.

Pick the right side of history, or get out of the way.

bottom of page