top of page

First Homecoming Experience as a Senior

Updated: Oct 30, 2018

By Mel Deorsola


These last few years, I would proudly admit that I have been to very few school dances. To be honest, I had not planned on going to homecoming this year. That is, until my aunt convinced me that, since it is my last year at PL, I should experience every bit of high school.

I am proud to admit I was wrong.


Ever the buzzkill, I was ready to scrutinize the music, the food, and the atmosphere. But as more and more people arrived I began to change my mind. The music inside the gym was killer and without shoddy transitions. The food was surprisingly choice; you can’t go wrong with bottomless churros. And it was nice to see the two different atmospheres of the gym and the softball field.

On one hand, the gym was like a concert, with lasers and fog and spark machines and crowds and sweat and everyone jumping all at the same time. It was breathtaking. Literally. On the other hand, the baseball field was a nice way to relax when the gym became overwhelming. The silent disco was also probably one of the coolest and weirdest things I’ve ever experienced, but hey, there is no time like the present for trying new things.

I could feel the back to school tension slipping away from everyone, if only for that one night. It was nice to see another side of my peers, especially ones that I would not expect to go to a school dance, and much less dance all out to Gasolina.

I’m glad to say that I made lots of memories at my first and last homecoming dance. My friends made the night even more memorable. Feeding each other food and singing in each other’s faces is something we do often; now we can say we did it at homecoming, too.

If I can leave you with one thing it is this:

As a senior, let it be. Experience everything you can with the time you have. You never know what you’re going to miss.

📷

bottom of page